The fourth Tuesday: We Talk about Death

Morrie explains that his love relationships sustain his high spirits. He mentions a dear friend, Maurie Stein, who had sent Morrie’s aphorisms to a reporter from the Boston Globe newspaper. The men had both been at Brandeis University during the early 1960’s. Now, Maurie is deaf, and Morrie will soon be mute. Koppel asks how the two will communicate, and Morrie answers that they will hold hands; after thirty-five years of friendship, they do not need speech or hearing to communicate with one another.

The men talk about why facing the reality of death is so difficult for most people. Morrie says that realizing the imminence of death is realizing what is essential, thus you see your life in an entirely different light. Morrie also tells Mitch that if he accepts death, he may not be as ambitious as he is now, as he will see that he must spend time on what is meaningful to him, and not working to make money. Morrie urges Mitch to consider further “spiritual development,” and concedes that he is not exactly sure what that phrase means, though he is certain that people are too involved in material goods and their own egotism. Morrie notes that he appreciates what he sees from his window, though he is unable to go outside and enjoy it.

Where should I start? The first time I read this book was when I was a 6th grader. I am surprised at how I feel different from the same book. I think I was too young to understand what the book says. What made me so different from those days? Well, I know the answer. A change came with breath of death. Nodding with every sentence in the book, I felt like I were with Morrie and listening to his quite and mild voice talking about death. Even more, when Morrie says that he and his friends do not need speech or hearing to communicate with one another after thirty-five years of friendship, I wish I could find a friend like his, and keep such deep and sticky friendship so that there would be one who understands me even if I go deaf. I began to think over relationship and death again, rpeating myself what Morrie mentions about death. I am still reluctant to face and accept death. It will take a long time for sure.

